Minutes of the Pre-Convention DEC Meeting April 20, 222 7:30 p.m. – Spenard Post 28

The meeting was called to order by President Jane Larson at 7:32 p.m.

MOTION: By Anarene Robinson (Unit 33) and seconded by Diana Estrada (Unit 35) to

dispense with opening ceremonies except for the prayer and Pledge of Allegiance.

The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

ROLL CALL

Present

National Officers

National Executive Committee Member Penny Mazonna

Department Officers

President Jane Larson

1st Vice President Anarene Robinson

Secretary Barbara Nath

Treasurer Diana Estrada

Chaplain Colleen Newman

Historian Lori Fruhwirth

Sgt-at-Arms Frances Bedel

Executive Committee Member Robyn Downs

Standing Committees

Alaska Girls State – Lori Fruhwirth

Americanism – Jane Larson

Auxiliary Emergency Fund – Zona Gregg

Distinguished Guests – Penny Mazonna

History – Lori Fruhwirth

Legislative -- Penny Mazonna

Membership – Anarene Robinson

National Security – Frances Bedel

Past Presidents' Parley—Jane Larson

Minutes of the Pre-Convention Department Executive Committee April 20, 2022 Page 2 of 5

ROLL CALL (continued0

Present

Units

Jack Henry Unit 1 Joseph T. Craig Unit 3

Seward Unit 5

Merlin Elmer Palmer Unit 6

Dorman H Baker Unit 11

General Buckner Unit 16

George H. Plumley Memorial Unit 20

Spenard Unit 28

Muldoon Unit 29

Peters Creek Unit 33

Susitna Valley Unit 35

C. Russell Huber Unit 57

Past Department Presidents

Marge Blankenship Susan Caswell Sharon Cherrette Rehta Foster Penny Mazonna Caroline Null

Jane Larson

Excused

National Officers

Alternate National Executive Committee Member Sue Diaz

Department Officers

2nd Vice President April Sinclair

Standing Committees

Audit – Sue Diaz

Community Services – Kathy Moore

Constitution and Bylaws – Sue Diaz

Junior Activities – Nina Ketelsen

Veteran's Affairs and Rehabilitation – April Sinclair

Past Department Presidents

Sue Diaz Sue Waldhaus Lisa Williamson

Minutes of the Pre-Convention Department Executive Committee April 20, 2022 Page 3 of 5

ROLL CALL (continued0

Absent

Department Officers

Executive Committee Member Sheryl Howe

Standing Committees

Children and Youth – Sheryl Howe Education and Scholarship – Lisa Boyles Finance – Beverly Eads Leadership – Delores Stokes Poppy – Christine Calabrese Public Relations – Beverly Eads

Units

Lynn Canal Unit 12 Sitka Unit 13 Matanuska Valley Unit 15 Robert G. Blair Unit 17 Ninilchik Unit 18 Gladys M. Heintz Unit 27 Con Miller Unit 30 Chappie James Unit 34 Peter Heyano Unit 442

Past Department Presidents

Eva Aulston Lynn Bash Ruth Brown
Betty Bumala Jean Clayton Lavonne Collier
Beverly Eads Lori FitzSimons Francisca Guilford
June Haas Laverne Kearns Debbie Lowndes
Evelyn Oliver Jill Pawson Jean Shandy

Barbe Wolkoff

INTRODUCTION OF GUESTS

President Jane Larson introduced Western Division National Vice Prsident Toni Gimpel. She is from Idaho. She thanked Alaska for the invitation to come visit our state and encouraged us to continue the great work the Alaska members are doing.

Minutes of the Pre-Convention Department Executive Committee April 20, 2022 Page 4 of 5

APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

MOTION: by Zona Gregg (Unit 6) and seconded by Diana Estrada (Unit 35) to approve the

minutes of the February 1, 2022 DEC Meeting.

The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

COMMUNICATIONS

1st Vice President Anarene Robinson read a letter from Governor Dunleavy congratulating the American Legion Auxiliary, Department of Alaska has reaching 100 years of services.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

There was no Unfinished Business to come before the Department Executive Committee.

NEW BUSINESS

MOTION: by Barbara Nath and seconded by Diana Estrada (35) to approve the rental of

space at the American Legion Headquarters Building in Anchorage for a cost of

\$200 per year.

Barb pointed out that she had several years of documents from different secretaries throughout the years. She wanted to be able to move items to American Legion Headquarters building. The intent that she would keep the current year and the past year documents with the secretary.

Sharon Cherertte asked about paying for a rental van to move everything into town. Barb indicated that there were several people in the Valley who hadtrucks which could b eused to transport, but thanked Sharon for thinkin of that cost.

The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Minutes of the Pre-Convention Department Executive Committee April 20, 2022 Page 5 of 5

ANNOUNCEMENTS

- The joint Opening Ceremony will be at 9:00 a.am. Thursday at Spenard Post 28.
- There will be a Post Everlasting for all family members, and the Military Child's Table Ceremony (conducted by the Juniors)\
- Members were reminded to bring scrapbooks, history books and chaplains books to the meeting on Thursday.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the Department Executive Committee, the meeting was adjourned at 7:42 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Barbara Nath Department Secretary